Miracle Centres: List of Nigerian Secondary Schools Banned by WAEC over Examination Malpractices


Thirty-five (35) secondary schools in Rivers state have been banned from presenting candidates for the West African Secondary School Certificate Examination (WASSCE).

The schools were reportedly banned over their involvement in examination malpractices. WAEC said it has de-recognised 35 schools in Rivers state over examination malpractice. 

Miracle Centres: List of Nigerian Secondary Schools Banned by WAEC over Examination Malpractices
The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) building Source: premiumtimesng.com

The River state's Ministry of Education has forwarded the letter de-recognising the affected schools to their owners, Legit.NG quoted a PM News report. 

The letter was signed by the Deputy Registrar/Zonal Coordinator for Head of National office of West African Examinations Council (WAEC), S.D. Kum. 

According to Kum, all the schools affected by the ban will not register candidates for the examination until further notice. 

The report further noted that some schools in the state have acquired the notoriety of being called "Miracle Centres” where all manners of examination malpractices are allowed. 

It was learnt that the "miracle centres" are patronised by desperate candidates and their parents. 

See full list of the banned schools below:  

Private Schools

  1. EL-Olam global academy, Ogbogoro 
  2. Rehoboth Int'l Secondary School 
  3. Christ Secondary School, Nonwa 
  4. Midland Int'l Christian Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt 
  5. Rootway Compre. College, Port Harcourt 
  6. Charry Compre. Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt 
  7. Millennium High School, Port Harcourt 
  8. Sonny Memorial College, Diobu 
  9. Sit-up International School, Oyigho 
  10. Rich-Model Secondary School, Oyigbo 
  11. Excel Comprehensive College, Okrika 
  12. Victory High School, Port Harcourt 
  13. Atlantic Heralds High School, Port Harcourt 
  14. Nigerian Christian Comp. College, Asarunia 
  15. Nobsams International School, Igbo Etche 
  16. Unique International Secondary School, Etche 
  17. Ranjenny's High School, Ogale Nchia 
  18. Eleme Baptist Vocational College, Aboada 
  19. John Wesley College, Bori 

Note: The remaining two schools on the list are not visible in the document published by PM News. 

Public schools 

Community Secondary School, Ido 

Community Secondary School, Baranyowa Dere 

Community Secondary School, KONO Boue 

Community Secondary School, Kpean 

Comprehensive High Shool, Sii Khanna 

Kono Secondary School, Kono 

Community Secondary School, Baen 

Comm. Secondary School. Ngo-Uyeada 

Community Secondary School, Abam-ama 

Community Secondary School, Ban-Ogoi Tua-Tua 

Community Secondary School, Korokoro 

Joinkrama Girls' Secondary School, Joinkrama 

Western Ahoada County High School, Ahoada 

Community Secondary School, Ebubu Eleme 

No comments